Domino Magazine is no more

domino012809

Out of all the magazines I’d heave onto the table the rare times I’d find myself in Barnes and Noble, the first magazine I could hardly wait to open was Domino magazine. Condé Nast has sounded the death knell for my favorite magazine of all time. I can hardly believe it. It was the only magazine that delighted me month after month.

Who knew that it would ever fold? Well, I sort of knew a couple of weeks ago.

You see, a lovely editor from Domino contacted me and made me a candidate (their may have been four other people in the running) for their their last page: “Ten things that make me Happy”. If you read Domino, you’ll know what I’m talking about. I was thrilled, beyond thrilled! Just the fact that Domino knows who I am and that they know my work still thrills me, even under this sad event. I gathered my favorite ten things and presented my list to the editor in my special way. She loved my choices and presentation (my own photos) and told me that I would know if I were chosen for the back page at the end of December. Well, I did what I did, handed in my choices and then went to Paris at the end of December to celebrate life and love.

Alas, I was not chosen. Was I disappointed? Honestly, I was sad for thirty seconds and then thought of the projects I have lined up for me in Paris and a smile came back to my lips. Oh! I have something up my sleeve folks and I hope that you’ll love it!

To the lovely editor who rooted for me at Domino as well as every other member of the Domino Magazine team, I would like to thank you all for the inspiration, the vibrancy and the accessibility that you brought back to interior design. Thank you for believing in my work. I wish you all the best in your future projects.

You will be missed but not forgotten.

Explore posts in the same categories: Decorative

3 Comments on “Domino Magazine is no more”


  1. Too bad, I would have liked seeing your picks on that page… I just discovered your blog and absolutely love it… will definitely be back!

  2. josephine Says:

    you would have been sooo perfect for the “Ten Things…” section, but why can’t you list them all here? plenty of the readers of your blog are Domino fans, too, i’m sure. so spill it! what are your ten favorite things? can’t wait to see what you’ve got cooking in Paris.

  3. thistimenow Says:

    To Designer’s Brew and Josephine: Thank you!
    Josephine, I think that I’ll take you up on that.

    Ciao!
    Felicia, This Time Now


Leave a Reply

