$200,000 studio apts. making a comeback?!

Michael Appleton for The New York Times

Michael Appleton for The New York Times

Michael Appleton for The New York Times

Michael Appleton for The New York Times

I was reading the The New York Times (click on link for video) today and came across this headline.  I try to keep abreast of real estate prices in specific cities around the world. Well, lo and behold I was greeted with a headline that tickled me. Was I supposed to jump for joy now that tiny, microscopic New York studio apartments were at an all time low of 200,000 dollars? Well, those lovely and creative friends of mine who live in the Big Apple will quickly adjust my attitude after reading this blog. Heck, they may even contact the featured realtors.

I don’t know about you, but the idea of spending an exorbitant amount of money on a box of an apartment makes as much sense as paying retail prices at Banana Republic. Everybody knows that a sale will ensue in three weeks or less at this popular chain!

Are you willing to sacrifice space to live in one of the world’s greatest cities? Would it be worth it to you? They say that everybody has a price, what’s yours?

Explore posts in the same categories: Interior

7 Comments on “$200,000 studio apts. making a comeback?!”

  1. lananf Says:

    If the location is incredible and my salary can afford it, yes, I am willing to sacrifice the space.
    The smallest I will go, however, is around 400sf…and I suppose that in the big apple, that is generous.
    that’s enough room to share with company, eat without having to sit on my bad mat and roll around on the floor!

  2. josephine Says:

    i agree – about the studio prices and banana republic! i always want to live within my means, so if even if i’m living in my favorite place, if i can’t afford to enjoy it, then it might not be worth it for me. and if i need to go broke in order to enjoy living in a city, then that city probably isn’t the right place for me. that being said, i think it is possible to live in a full life in a cosmopolitan city without going broke.

  3. Jacqueline Says:

    You have to be out of your mind if you think these prices are acceptable. I know for certain that I don’t buy into it.

  4. thistimenow Says:

    I completely agree with you “Jacq Jacq”. Why pay an extortionate amount of money for a box when I could pay that same amount in say, Buenos Aires, Amsterdam or heck, even in Virginia and have mad space? I need my space, I no longer live for a city, no matter how fabulous it is.

  5. Valerie Says:

    The bedroom looks so nice though!

  6. thistimenow Says:

    Valerie, dear Valerie,

    Her bedroom is her whole apt= Crazy small.

  7. SDG Says:

    It’s nuts! It really is. I was born and raised in Manhattan and I’ve always thought those willing to pay these prices were foolish.

    Maybe I take my place of birth for granted, but I’ve never understood the obsession some ppl have with the city and their willingness to do the insane just to live there.


Leave a Reply

