Barbie’s dreamhouse in Compton?

Gywnn Griffith
28571586
28571602
28571662

Um, I don’t know about this one, but hey, I am courageous at heart.

I just ran across this thanks to NYT and I must say it raises an important question. Would I risk gunshots, excessive noise pollution, vagrants, etc. to live in my dream home? The answer was yes according to the folks you see below and in the rest of the article. I must say, to look at the old shoe factory turned into some sumptuous old world haunt is tempting. 

I love what Ms. Griffith has done to her home/former factory, love it!  The big drawback is of course the safety issue.

The large allure to having my dream home is having said home in a neighborhood where I can walk around and not worry about being accosted or otherwise disturbed. Griffith has created an interior world that more than outshines what lies outside of her doors, but is it enough, can it last?

As much as I travel the world, I’m a homebody at heart. I love coming home after a long trip or stay and walking in my quartier or neighborhood. There’s something that money can never buy: peace of mind. I notice that I’m very happy when I walk around my neighborhood, speak with passersby, am thankful that about how lucky I am to live in such a neighborhood.

Would you buy the home of your dreams in a risky neighborhood so as to afford it?

Explore posts in the same categories: Architectural, Interior

One Comment on “Barbie’s dreamhouse in Compton?”

  1. Caroline Says:

    No way! I would not even consider the thought for a second actually. The neighborhood is just as important as the house for me.


Leave a Reply

